After all, you’re just a silhouette.

I met him today, with his girlfriend. I only got a good look at their back side, but I saw them – and it didn’t hurt half as much as I feared. As I looked at him, holding this strange girl’s hand, I got very confused. Was this the boy I was so dearly in love with? I’m not sure. He looked differently. When he spoke, his voice didn’t sound as soft. I quickly flashed back to all the times he held my hand and held me close, but there was no data to be found. Don’t misunderstand me, I still have a lot of memories of him, but this man I saw with another girl wasn’t the boy I used to love. He moved on and so have I, finally. I didn’t feel too bad seeing him. It just reminded me of the fact that the girl I was loved that boy more than anything else in the world; that this boy probably loved that girl as well and as much – but that the man that stands before me now doesn’t.

“And if you’re in love, then you are the lucky one

’cause most of us are bitter over someone.

Setting fire to our insides for fun

To distract our hearts from ever missing them

But I’m forever missing him.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment